
Rabies Fact Sheet 
Animal Licenses 

 
 

The New Jersey Administrative Code Title 8, Chapter 23A specifies the requirements for 
the rabies vaccination needed for issuing animal licenses.  No animal license can be 
issued for any given year unless the animal’s vaccination is valid throughout at least ten 
of the twelve months of the licensing period.  In the Borough of Rocky Hill, licenses are 
issued on a calendar year basis so that vaccination documentation must say that the 
animal’s immunity is valid through at least November 1. 
 
The following was excerpted from the New Jersey Administrative Code on April 20, 
2009 for your information.  As with all items on the website, we request that you contact 
our Borough Clerk for the most up-to-date information. 
 
 
§ 8:23A-4.1 Requirements for licensure 
 

a) Except as otherwise provided in  8:23A-4.3, no municipal clerk or other official 
designated to license dogs shall grant any such license and official metal 
registration tag for any dog unless the dog owner provides evidence that the dog 
to be licensed and registered has been inoculated against rabies with a vaccine 
having duration of immunity which extends throughout at least ten of the 12 
months of the licensing period. Dogs with a duration of immunity against rabies 
that expires prior to the tenth month of the licensing period shall be revaccinated 
prior to issuance of a license. 

 
b) The rabies inoculation required in (a) above shall be made by a duly licensed 

veterinarian. The vaccine used must be approved by the United States Department 
of Agriculture and administered to the animal at the dosage and route of 
administration in accordance with the specifications of the product label and 
package insert. 

 
c) The veterinarian immunizing the animal shall issue and sign a National 

Association of State Public Health Veterinarians Form #51, "Rabies Vaccination 
Certificate," and shall arrange that the following information is typed or printed 
on the rabies certificate: the date of inoculation, the duration of immunity, the 
name and serial number of the product used, a description of the animal, the name 
and license number of the veterinarian, and the full mailing address of the owner. 
Computer-generated forms containing the same information, signature stamps, 
and electronic signatures are acceptable. The animal owner shall retain the 
certificate of inoculation and exhibit it to the animal licensing official of the 
municipality when application for a license is made. 

 
 
 



§ 8:23A-4.3 Certification of exemption 
 
Municipal dog licensing officials shall grant an exemption to the rabies inoculation 
requirement for any dog that a duly licensed veterinarian certifies in writing to be 
incapable of being inoculated because of an infirmity, other physical condition, or 
regimen of therapy. 
 
§ 8:23A-5.1 Violation; penalty 
 
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 4:19-15.19, and except as otherwise provided in that law, any person 
who violates or who fails or refuses to comply with this chapter shall be liable to a 
penalty of not less than $ 5.00 nor more than $ 50.00 for each offense, to be recovered by 
and in the name of the Commissioner of the Department, the local board of health of the 
municipality, or the municipality. 


